Name

svk update — Update your working copy.

Synopsis

svk update [PATH...]

Description

svk update brings changes from the depot into your working copy. If no revision given, it brings your working copy up-to-date with the HEAD revision. Otherwise, it synchronizes the working copy to the revision given by the --revision switch.

For each updated item a line will start with a character reporting the action taken. These characters have the following meaning:

A

Added

D

Deleted

U

Updated

C

Conflict

G

Merged

g

Merged, but the file in your working copy already had the changes being merged so the file is unchanged.

A character in the first column signifies an update to the actual file, while updates to the file's properties are shown in the second column.

Alternate Names

up

Changes

Working copy

Accesses Depot

Yes

Accesses Mirrored Repository

Only if the --sync switch is given.

Switches

--revision (-r) REV
--non-recursive (-N)
--check-only (-C)
--sync (-s)
--merge (-m)
--quiet (-q)

Examples

Pick up repository changes that have happened since your last update:

$ svk update
Syncing //myproj(/myproj) in /Users/sally/myproj to 31.
A   newdir/toggle.c
A   newdir/disclose.c
A   newdir/launch.c
D   newdir/README

You can also update your working copy to an older revision (SVK doesn't have the concept of “sticky” files like CVS does; see Appendix A, SVK for CVS Users):

$ svn update --revision 30
Syncing //myproj(/myproj) in /Users/sally/myproj to 30.
A   newdir/README
D   newdir/toggle.c
D   newdir/disclose.c
D   newdir/launch.c
U   foo.c

Tip

If you want to examine an older revision of a single file, you may want to use svk cat.

To see what would happen if you ran svk update without actually modifying your working copy use the --check-only switch:

$ svk update ---check-only
Syncing //myproj(/myproj) in /Users/sally/myproj to 31.
A   newdir/toggle.c
A   newdir/disclose.c
A   newdir/launch.c
D   newdir/README